Non-fiction Narrative Book Recommendations for YOU☆☆☆

SO I thought I would take a break on photos (also because I haven’t really gone out anywhere or taken any photos) and give book recommendations!

I really enjoying reading non-fiction narrative books because it gives me an outlook on real issues happening in my real world. It’s also just cool to know that the characters I am reading, the places that are described, and the struggles and challenges each characters faces are all REALSo here are my three book recommendations for you to consider reading 🙂

*Press on the book for the link

1. Born to Kill by T.J. English
screen-shot-2017-08-07-at-7-20-09-pm.png

Born to Kill is an Vietnamese gang that existed in Chinatown, NY in the later half of 1900s. The story follows a young refugee named Tinh Ngo, aka Timmy, as he enters into the gang world in order to found refuge and acceptance in America. It talks about some of their criminal heists, description of the organizations, and their method of exhorting money in Chinatown, where they lived, where they traveled, the fear and brutality to secure their gang, and just really every aspect of their lives.

After reading this, I visited Chinatown last year, and it was so fascinating to know that everything I read in the book happened just where I was standing. I got so into asian gangs in New York that I would google “Asian gangs in New York” to read news articles about it. There is actually a shorter read from The New Yorker called “Revenge of the Green Dragons,” a Chinese gang that you can read here (or just contact me and I’ll send you the pdf ;)). It’s a very great read (with some pictures) that takes you on an adventure around NYC.

2. Enrique’s Journey by Sonia NazarioScreen Shot 2017-08-07 at 10.18.55 PM

“Enrique’s Journey” touches upon the issue of illegal immigrants coming in from Mexico/South America. Enrique is an Honduran, and the book records his difficult attempts to cross the border. After reading this, you can’t blame him or anyone for wanting to come to America because they are really having a hard life at home. Enrique has such a hard time to even reach the Mexican border, and through his journey you meet the compassionate individuals that help him, people who turn to the other side, and people he traveled with that died or gave up on the way. It is really incredible the extent to which people like Enrique go through, such as riding on top of trains where they can fall off, get mugged, or die.

I read this book for class but I couldn’t put the book down because it is so good and you can’t help wondering what will happen next. I really cheered on for Enrique to accomplish his mission to the states. This book is also pretty relevant regarding everything that’s happening with Trump and the border. Enrique is still alive today and you can see an interview of him from the past when he was detained here. (There are photographs in the book too!)

3. Nothing to Envy: Ordinary Lives in North Korea by Barbara DemickScreen Shot 2017-08-07 at 10.47.59 PM

I came across this book from my suite mate last year when she had it on her desk. I was actually going to read another North Korean book but she recommended that I read this one first.

This book follows several individuals and their previous lives in North Korea, and how they ended up fleeing and settling in South Korea. Each one had different occupations, standards of living, and beliefs before taking up the decision to leave. I can’t help but think how normal their lives were in North Korea, before the famine that left so many of the citizens to starve to death. And even though they are living better lives in the new country, you can’t help but feel sad that they miss their home and their loved ones, who are still in North Korea. It’s so interesting how each person in the book reacted to the regime and the way they coped with it. This is a great book if you want more insight in the North Korean society.

***

I am suddenly so into books now and will probably read more and write about them here. Thinking of doing a “book of the month” type of thing.

Hope you enjoyed this post and let me know if you are interested in reading any of these books! Happy reading everyone 🙂

Leave a Reply

